Follow us
  • £
  • $

One Family, Charity Partner of The Asian Awards 2017, Celebrates Winners

One Family

One Family was delighted to be the official Charity Partner of The Asian Awards 2017. The digital-first charity revealed its groundbreaking vision to a packed audience: to connect people through music, media, and technology and harness the force of love to generate positive change in the world.

One Family received support from the mayor of London,Sadiq Khan, model and actress, Amy Jackson, recording artist, Asami Zdrenka, singer, songwriter, author, and broadcaster, Cerys Matthews MBE, comedian, writer, and actress, Meera Syal CBE, recording artist, Harris J, and many more, on what was an extremely successful night of fundraising for an array of important causes.

On a glittering evening, hosted by actor, comedian, and presenter, Sanjeev Bhaskar, many deserving winners graced the stage of the Park Lane Hilton, in London. Among the many highlights of the evening was the award for Outstanding Achievement in Cinema, which was awarded posthumously to the much-loved actor, Om Puri. The award was accepted on his behalf in a moving speech by his widow, Nandita, and his son, Aashan. Sunny Pawar, the eight-year-old child-actor in Lion, who won the Rising Star award, came close to stealing the show, just as he did at the Oscars. However, the most memorable presentation of the evening was the tribute to legendary Indian cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar, who was only the fourth recipient of the Fellowship Award, which recognizes a lifetime of outstanding achievement.

Here is a full list of the evening’s awards winners:

Business Leader of the Year Ajay Banga
Outstanding Achievement in Sports Ding Junhui
Philanthropist of the Year Dr. Jack Preger
Rising Star of the Year Sunny Pawar
Entrepreneur of the Year Masayoshi Son
Outstanding Achievement in Cinema Om Puri
Outstanding Achievement in Science and Technology Demis Hassabis
Outstanding Achievement in Music Adnan Sami
Outstanding Achievement in Television Krishnan Guru Murthy
Outstanding Contribution to the Community Sir Harpal Kumar
Social Entrepreneur of the Year Nisha Dutt
Fellowship Award Sachin Tendulkar


Donate Now